Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Tundra Drivers Make History. Break NASCAR Record

“It’s great to be a part of this Toyota winning streak in the Truck Series,” says Jones, who guided his Kyle Busch Motorsports (KBM) No. 51 Toyota Care Tundra to victory lane at the Phoenix one-mile oval, a win that made him the youngest race-winner in series history.  “Back in Phoenix last year, we were able to really get that streak going and carry it all the way through this year and it’s pretty awesome – especially for Toyota and everyone involved.”
In addition, the now 18-year-old Jones registered a win at Iowa Speedway on July 11, while Wallace picked up a first-place trophy at Gateway Motorsports Park on June 14.
“It just shows what Toyota carries each and every weekend to the race track,” said the 20-year-old Wallace, who became the first African-American driver to win a NASCAR national series race in more than 50 years when he drove his KBM Tundra to victory lane at Virginia’s Martinsville Speedway last October.  “To be able to go out and compete for Toyota is completely an honor and pretty much the backbone of my career ever since 2009.  To be a part of the win streak that we carried since November of last year is special.  It’s really, really an honor to be a part of that -- and for me to be able to continue the streak at St. Louis and again on the dirt at Eldora.  It’s really cool to see that Toyota is making a huge statement throughout the Truck Series, and to be a part of that is a lot of fun.  Toyota has been strong all year.”
Jones’ team owner, Kyle Busch, ended the 2013 season with a win in the series season-finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway. Busch also won all five Truck Series races he’s competed in this season: Daytona International Speedway, Kansas Speedway, Charlotte Motor Speedway, Dover International Speedway and Kentucky Speedway.
While KBM drivers earned 10 of the 12 wins during the run, fellow Tundra team ThorSport Racing driver (and 2013 series champion) Matt Crafton took the top spot at Martinsville Speedway on March 30 and Texas Motor Speedway on June 6.
“It’s been amazing what all the Toyota teams have accomplished with this streak of wins,” said Crafton.  “I’m really proud to have been a part of a couple of the victories along the way.  It’s an impressive record that probably won’t be topped or matched for a long, long time.  It definitely showcases the support of TRD and the dedication that Toyota has to the Truck Series.”
The previous mark for consecutive wins in the NCWTS was eight – set by Chevrolet in 1995 and tied by Dodge in 2001.
Toyota began competing in the Truck Series with the Tundra in 2004.  In more than 10 years of competition in the series, Tundra drivers have registered 122 victories and 96 pole positions. Toyota also has claimed six manufacturer’s championships (2006-10 and 2013) and driver’s championships for Todd Bodine (2006 and 2010), Johnny Benson (2008) and Crafton (2013).
Although the winning streak came to an end at Pennsylvania’s Pocono Raceway in early August, Tundra drivers look to start a new streak – and break their own record – when the series returns to action at the Michigan International Speedway two-mile oval this weekend. Truck on!
See original article.

No comments:

Post a Comment